Links

List of Breeders in South Africa

SAGDA BREEDER MEMBERS
Kennel NameColoursLocationContactEmail/PhoneWebsite
CarluHarlequin/mantle/merleJohannesburgDr Carel Breytenbachcarlu1@mweb.co.za 
ReynHarlequin/mantle/merleJohannesburgThirusha Padiachytpadiachy13@gmail.com 
SaxonyHarlequin/mantle/merleJohannesburgShannon McKayshannon@imaginet.co.zawww.saxonygreatdanes.co.za
Vom DanoisFawnNatalMichelle Geldenhuysmichelle@jordaangeldenhuys.co.za 
TretowerFawn/brindleNatalDebbie Sutcliffetretower@satcom.co.za 
NON MEMBER BREEDERS
Kennel NameColoursLocationContactEmail/PhoneWebsite
BrukkarosBlueCape TownCoen & Lana de Klerkinfo@brukkarosgreatdanes.comwww.brukkarosgreatdanes.com
Caldy GateFawn/brindleCape TownBelinda Davidsonbcass@mweb.co.zawww.caldygategreatdanes.com
DurwardglenHarlequin/mantle/merleCape TownAnna van Heerdenzubizoo@outlook.com 
FairmoorFawnJohannesburgMartin & Leigh Beckmannmarshawes@mweb.co.za 
GaitewaiFawn/brindleCape TownAlta Waitaltawait@telkomsa.net 
GatonfordBlue/blackCape TownDaniel van Wykdanielvanwyk@gmail.com 
GavelleHarlequin/mantle/merleCape TownMichelle & Gavin Hendersoninfo@gavellegreatdanes.co.zawww.gavellegreatdanes.co.za
LandskaHarlequin/mantle/merleCape TownCliff & Stephanie Canipestephaniecanipe@gmail.com 
SlaganBlack/blueCape TownSam van Niekerksamvniekerk22@gmail.comwww.slagan.com
ToddingtonFawn/brindleNatalBob & Biddy Harmer  
      
SAGDA does not guarantee the health or quality of any litters bred by individual breeders. Potential puppy buyers are to enquire from breeders specifically with regards to the test results of individual litters bred. Providing the abovementioned information does not confer liability or obligations to SAGDA in respect of any contract entered into between breeders and members of the public.
 SAGDA Breeder Members adhere to an additional Code of Ethics.

 

In addition to the basic essentials (points 1 – 4) a good breeder should also provide/adhere to:

  1. Appropriate space, food, shelter, veterinary care, environmental enrichment and hygiene for all the dogs in their care at all times.
  2. Breeding only with adult dogs/bitches – neither immature nor elderly dogs/bitches.
  3. Not overbreeding dogs or bitches.
  4. Registration with KUSA.
  5. Hip & Elbow testing (once off).
  6. Eye testing (within 12 months prior to breeding).
  7. Heart testing (within 18 months prior to breeding).
  8. Thyroid testing (within 12 months prior to breeding).
  9. Puppies placed on contract with breeding restrictions.
  10. Puppies can be returned to breeder at any stage of their life.
  11. Any deposit returned in full if breeder unable to place a pup from the relevant litter i.e. deposits not carried over ad infinitum.